Resources

Flour

kaforganicKing Arthur Flour, www.kingarthurflour.com.

Camas Country Mill, www.camascountrymill.com, Eugene, Oregon.  Phone: 541-357-5448.  Email: info@camascountrymill.com

Fairhaven Organic Flour Mill, www.fairhavenflour.com, Bellingham, Washington. Phone:  360-757-9947.  Email:  Fairhavenflour@Q.com.

Community Grains, www.communitygrains.com, Oakland, California.  Phone: 510-547-3737.  Email:  answers@communitygrains.com.

Organic Grains

New Seasons Markets, www.newseasonsmarket.com, Portland, Oregon.  Multiple locations.

Whole Foods Market, www.wholefoodsmarket.com, multiple locations.

Clear

Professional Equipment & Consulting

Dick’s Restaurant Supply, Seattle and other Washington locations.  Phone: 800-294-7598.
Email: mhoye@dicksrestaurantsupply.com

TMB Baking, San Francisco, California.  Phone:650-589-5724.  Email: contact@tmbbaking.com

Artisan Baking Resources, Inc., Michael Eggebrecht, michael@artisan-baking.com

Clear

Flour Mills

clgmCountry Living Grain Mills, countrylivinggrainmills.com.  Phone:  360-652-0671.  Email:  info@countrylivinggrainmills.com.

Meadows Mills, www.meadowsmills.com.  Phone:  1-800-626-2282 or 336-838-2282.
Email:  sales@meadowsmills.com.

Clear

Wood-Fired Ovens

Wood-Fired Ovens, Kiko Denzer

Wood Stone Corporation, wood-stone.com.  Wood-fired ovens, tandoor ovens, custom commercial ovens.

Clear

Recommended Books

The Third Plate, Dan Barber

The Art and Practice of Handmade Pasta, Gnocchi, and Risotto, Marc Vetri and David Joachim

The New Bread Basket, Amy Halloran (available summer of 2015)

Home Baked: Nordic Recipes and Techniques for Organic Bread and Pastry, Hanne Risgaard and Marie-Louise Risgaard

Tartine Book No. 3, Chad Robertson

Vingrandcentraltage Cakes and Rustic Fruit DessertsJulie Richardson

Bread: A Baker’s Book of Techniques and Recipes, Jeffrey Hamelman.  www.kingarthurflour.com

Josey Baker Bread, Josey Baker

Leslie Mackie’s Macrina Bakery and Cafe CookbookLeslie Mackie.  www.macrinabakery.com

The Grand Central Baking Book: Breakfast Pastries, Cookies, PiesSatisfying Savories from the Pacific Northwest’s Celebrated Bakery, Piper Davis and Ellen Jackson.  www.grandcentralbakery.com

Tartine Bread, Elisabeth Prueitt and Chad Robertson.

Burma: Rivers of Flavor, Naomi Duguid

In Search of the Perfect Loaf, Samuel Fromartz

A Boat, A Whale & a Walrus: Menus and Stories, Renee Erickson

 

Clear

richard

Clear

Oven Books

Build Your Own Earth Oven, Kiko Denzer.  www.intabas.com.

From the Wood-Fired Oven: New and Traditional Techniques for Cooking and Baking with Fire, Richard Miscovich

Farming Books

The Organic Grain Grower, Jack Lazor

Cultivating an Ecological Conscience, Frederick L. Kirschenmann, www.goodreads.com.

For Chefs

Seattle Chefs Collaborative

More About Food

Slow Food Seattle

Websites; Photographers; Associations

PCC Farmland Trust, www.pccfarmlandtrust.org

Bread Bakers Guild of America, www.bbga.org

M.C. Farine, www.farine-mc.com.  The by-line for Farine’s blog is “Crazy for Bread”.  Detailed descriptions, tips, photos and videos to make superb bread.

GoodFood World, www.goodfoodworld.com

Northwest Sourdough, www.northwestsourdough.com

Michael Peter Richard, The Grain Gathering web designer and videographer

Kim Binczewski, photographer, kim.binczewski@wsu.edu

Cara Kennedy Photography, 206-915-5724, kennedycara@hotmail.com

Jessamyn Tuttle, photographer and food writer

Nana Cardoon, a garden-based learning center in the Willamette Valley, Oregon.

Wheat Breeding

WSU Mount Vernon Agriculture Research and Extension Center, Mount Vernon, WA.  www.mtvernon.wsu.edu

Washington State University